Gudger votes 'yes,' Stutts 'no' on gas tax



MONTGOMERY - The Alabama Senate voted 28-6 in approval of the Rebuild Alabama Act,

which levies an additional 10-cents per gallon on fuel sales.
The state House of Representatives passed the referendum with a few amendments on Friday, March 8. The Senate voted the tax through on Tuesday, March 12, sending it to Gov. Kay Ivey’s desk where she is expected to sign it.
Marion County’s local legislative delegation was divided on the issue.
Freshman District 4 Sen. Garlan Gudger, R-Cullman, was among the 28 state senators who voted for the tax. Second-term District 6 Sen. Larry Stutts, R-Tuscumbia, was one of six senators who voted “no.”
House District 17 Rep. Tracy Estes, R-Winfield, was among the 84 House members to vote in favor of the bill. Twenty voted “no.”
Stutts had indicated last week that he planned to vote “no” on the bill if it still included an index which would automatically raise or lower fuel taxes 1 cent every two years based on road construction costs.
The bill was approved by the senate without removing the index.


See complete story in the Journal Record.
Subscribe now!