Winfield Area Baseball

Winfield Pirates named Area 10 champs

Shown is the Winfield Pirates baseball team. From left, back row are Coach Nathan Dean, Coach Jake Elkins, Coach Derrick Rhoades, Brooks Smith, Will Beasley, Hunter Busha, Hollis McMillian, Jace Hollingsworth, Aiden Quinn, Tyler Mays, Coach Alex Rodreguiz, Coach Tanner Smothers, Coach Billy Stovall and Head Coach Allan Smith. From left, middle row, kneeling are Walt Hennicke, Kyson Key, Brady May, Spencer Haney, Miles Gann, J.D. Ray, Jarett Hosch, Blake Quinn and Rain Nolan. From left seated are Blane Bowen, Brayden McCaleb, Baron Smith, Davis Bowen, Layne Pollard, Hayden Ballard, Breck Mays, Brandon Whitley and Kruz Box.

By Luke Brantley
Staff writer
OAKMAN — The Winfield Pirates defeated the Oakman Wildcats 12-5 on their own turf on Thursday, April 7 to win the 3A Area 10 championship.
It was the Pirates’ second victory over the Wildcats after beating them at home 16-6 the previous Tuesday, April 5.
In their first game, Brady May was the Pirates’ top scorer with three runs and one RBI, hitting two out of three. Layne Pollard scored two runs off of two hits.