Hamilton Aggies win Mike Spann Invitational

WINFIELD — On Saturday, April 1, Winfield hosted the Mike Spann Invitational Meet.
Hamilton’s girls claimed third place with 84 points, and Winfield finished in fourth place with 46 points. Marion County finished in eighth place with 32, Phillips was one point lower with 31 and Hackleburg placed 17th with nine points.
In the boys’ meet, Hamilton won with 171.5 points. Hackleburg and Winfield tied for sixth place with 43 points each. Phillips finished 14th with 12 points and Marion County tied with Athens Bible School for 16th with eight points.
Hackleburg’s Daniel Cooper won the boys’ MVP award.
Winfield’s girls’ 4x800 team placed third in 13:09, and Winfield’s boys relay team finished in second in 9:32.
Hamilton’s Meg Wiginton won the girls’ 100-meter hurdles with a time of 17.08. Hamilton’s Elijah Dollar won the boys’ 110-meter hurdles in 16.02.
Hamilton’s Joshua Webb won the boys’ 1600 in 4:49.19.
Winfield’s girls placed third in the 4x100 with a time of 58.67.
Hamilton’s boys won the 4x100 in 44.58.
Hackleburg’s Daniel Cooper won the boys’ 200-meter dash in 22.85 seconds, and Hamilton’s Dylan Seagraves finished in third in 23.03 seconds.
Wiginton won the girls’ 300-meter hurdles in 47.64 seconds. Hamilton’s Dawson Taylor won the boys’ 300 hurdles in 43.36, and fellow Aggie Elijah Dollar placed third in 43.92.
Winfield placed second in the girls’ 4x400 in 4:52.20, and Phillips took third in 5:41.30. Winfield’s boys also claimed second in the event in 3:54.57.
Hamilton’s Jordan Parker finished second in girls’ high jump with a mark of 4-10.
In girls’ pole vault, Hamilton’s Taylor Biggerstaff won with a mark of 8-0. Marion County’s Caroline Pyron placed second with the same mark.
Hamilton’s Jake Webb and Ethan Robinson took first and third in boys’ pole vault, with Webb clearing 13-6 and Robinson clearing 13-0.
Hamilton’s Kyra Casey won girls’ long jump with a mark of 16-4.50. Casey also placed second in triple jump with a mark of 32-8.
In boys’ discus, Hamilton’s Kevin McBride placed second with a total mark of 121-8.
Winfield’s Arie McCollum won the gold in girls’ javelin with a total mark of 98-3, Hamilton’s Myia Sizemore took home the silver with 89-5 and Phillips’ Natalee Ward completed the podium with a mark 86-9.
McCollum also won girls’ shot put with a total mark of 31-11.
Adan Aldridge brought home another win for the Pirates in boys’ shot put with a mark of 42-10.50. Hackleburg’s Luke Herring finished in third place with 41-5.50.
Finally, Hamilton’s Dylan Seagraves won the boys’ 100-meter dash in 11.38 seconds, and Hackleburg’s Cooper placed second in 11.39 seconds.


See complete story in the Journal Record.
Subscribe now!