Youth fishing contest brings out 58 kids Saturday

HAMILTON — Kids surrounded the Marion County Lake this past Saturday, June 10, to enjoy the Hamilton Bassmasters’ 39th annual youth fishing contest. The registered number of kids was 58.
Kids enjoyed free hotdogs and chips during the weigh-in at 11 a.m. where nine winners were selected in three different categories. They also received free t-shirts and tackleboxes.
In the 5-7 age category, Andrew Beasley won first place with 4.63 pounds of fish, Dawson Colburn was second with 3.97 pounds and Jayden Hileman was third with 3.62 pounds.
In the 8-10 age category, Jimmah Kate Tilley won first place with 4.3 pounds, Adelyn Beasley won second place with 4.06 pounds and Mack Markham got third with 3.94 pounds.
In the 11-13 age category, Dawson Tucker claimed first with 2.85 pounds, Lucas Seaborn second with 2.22 pounds and Blake Busby third with 1.96 pounds.
“We’ve had as many as 200 here before,” Mike Watts of the Hamilton Bassmasters said. “This is free to the public. We always give t-shirts, grab bags, tackle boxes and we have door prizes at the end. We give trophies for the top three winners in each category.”
“Today was a great day,” President Jeremy Webb said. “The weather couldn’t have been better. It wasn’t super hot, we had some wind and the sun stayed behind the clouds most of the day, which is outstanding in the fishing world.
“It makes everybody smile to see those youngsters get that trophy and see the smile on their face,” he continued. “It was a great day for all the kids. We’re super excited to be doing this since 1984.”
Sponsors included Marion County Circuit Clerk Denise Mixon, Hamilton Bassmasters, Bass Pro Shop and other private donors.
Those receiving door prizes, including many fishing rods, were Blake Busby, Colton Williams, Jakson Ingram, Tenley Burgett, Takiyah Anderson, Rylan Gann, Kyle Kladke, Landyn Hulsey, Sterlyn Crane, Cooper Lane, Henry McRae, Mack Markham, Dawson Tucker, Lucas Seaborn, Grady Inmon, Hannah Hamm, Coltyn Hulsey, Braxton Lee, Dawson Colburn and Tylan Channey.

See complete story in the Journal Record.
Subscribe now!