State gas tax will rise 10 cents

MONTGOMERY - The Alabama Senate voted 28-6 in approval of the Rebuild Alabama Act, which levies an additional 10-cents per gallon on fuel sales.
The state House of Representatives passed the referendum with a few amendments on Friday, March 8. The Senate voted the tax through on Tuesday, March 12, sending it to Gov. Kay Ivey’s desk, who signed it into law later that afternoon.
The state tax is now 18 cents a gallon for gasoline and 19 cents for diesel. It has not changed since 1992. Counties and municipalities across the state can pass their own local gas taxes.


See complete story in the Journal Record.
Subscribe now!